Hounoured to be Nominated

By News Corp Australia
Hayes trio recognised for two super training achievements

THE powerful Lindsay Park triumvirate has received two separate nominations for the 2017 Fred Hoysted Medal after Racing Victoria announced the finalists for season 2016-2017 on Friday.

The coveted award recognises the most outstanding single training performance on a Victorian racetrack.

David Hayes, Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig were chosen for Redkirk Warrior’s historic first-up victory in the Newmarket Handicap at Flemington and for training a Group 1 double on Blue Diamond Stakes Day with Catchy and Sheidel.

Racing Victoria also announced three more finalists from the tens of thousands of training achievements on Victorian soil last season.

Robert Hickmott, for Almandin’s win in the Melbourne Cup at Flemington; Ciaron Maher, for Regina Coeli’s second victory in the Grand Annual Steeplechase at Warrnambool; and Chris Waller for Winx’s second successive win in the Cox Plate at Moonee Valley.

Darren Weir won last year’s medal for Prince of Penzance’s victory in the 2015 Melbourne Cup.

The winner will be revealed at Victorian racing’s gala Scobie Breasley Medal Awards night on September 3.

News Archive


Lindsay Park Team

News - Archive